Posted in Books, News, Promotion

Shiny new website

Last week I settled down with a cuppa and switched on the TV to find a programme called Make It at Market on BBC1. It’s a bit of a dull title for what was actually an interesting 45 minutes of telly, showing skilled craftspeople how to make a living out of their art.

As well as advice on the practicalities of painting, sculpting, woodworking, print-making etc, they were also given help on the vexed question of marketing. One particular tip about websites had me scurrying off to check my own, and I realised to my horror that although it was very pretty, it was doing more to showcase my blog (or even me) than it was my books.

Cue lots of head-banging (how could I miss something so obvious??) and a couple of days of hard-core redesigning and re-coding. The html code fought back royally every inch of the way, but AT LAST I have a shiny new website which is actually focussed on what I need it to – my books.

With a new template there’s space for a news flash, details of my latest book, a link to sign up to my newsletter, and another link to all my other books, hopefully in much easier reach of the casual reader who happens to surf past. You can find it all RIGHT HERE and I hope you find it easier to navigate than the old one, and a bit more informative!

Pic credit: BBC

Author:

Fiona lives in a slate cottage within stone-throwing distance (never a good idea in Glass houses...) of England's largest lake. She enjoys history, gardening and photography, and rarely has her nose far from the pages of a book - or a cup of tea.

Leave a comment